FOREWORD

Special Section on Recent Progress in Antennas and Propagation in Conjunction with Main Topics of ISAP2017

ISAP2017 was held in Phuket, Thailand during 30 October-2 November 2017. It was successfully organized by the Electrical, Electronics, Computer, Telecommunications, and Information Technology (ECTI) of Thailand in cooperation with IEEE Thailand Section, IEEE MTT, AP, ED Thailand chapter, IEEE Education chapter, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society, IEICE Communication Society, Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET), Chinese Institute of Electronics (CIE), European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP), Institute of Antenna Engineers of Taiwan, Korea Institute of Electronics Engineers (KIEES), and Radio and Electronics Association of Vietnam (REV).

ISAP2017 attracted 452 submissions from 33 countries. With the careful review, 411 papers were accepted from 28 countries. The program was arranged to have 254 oral presentations and 157 poster presentations. There were 4 workshops, 3 plenary talks, 15 invited talks, 14 special sessions, and 50 oral sessions.

Thanks to IEICE Communication Society for continuous support and publishing this special section which has an objective to publish recent research results on antennas and propagation technologies related to the topics in ISAP2017. With the strict review for 19 general submissions, 8 general papers are accepted. Also, four papers invited from the plenary speakers are published.

On behalf of the editorial team of this special section, we would like to express my sincere appreciation to all the authors for their contributions. In particular, the reviewers and the editorial committee members are highly appreciated for their effort that make this special section success.

Special Section Editorial Committee Members

Deputy Editor-in-Chief:

Jiro Hirokawa (Tokyo Tech.)

Guest Editors:

Chuwong Phongcharoenpanich (King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang), Takeshi Fukusako (Kumamoto Univ.), and Yuichi Kimura (Saitama Univ.)

Guest Associate Editors:

Danai Torrungrueng (King Mongkut's University of Technology North Bangkok), Takuji Arima (Tokyo Univ. of Agric. and Tech.), Shinichi Ichitsubo (Kyushu Inst. of Tech.), Yoshio Inasawa (Mistsubishi Electric), Hisato Iwai (Doshisha Univ.), Naoki Kita (NTT), Masayuki Nakano (KDDI Research), Eisuke Nishiyama (Saga Univ.), Naoki Honma (Iwate Univ.), Ryo Yamaguchi (Softbank), Manabu Yamamoto (Hokkaido Univ.)

Monai Krairiksh (King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang), Guest Editor-in-Chief

Monai Krairiksh (Member) was born in Bangkok, Thailand. He received the B.Eng., M.Eng. and D.Eng. degrees in electrical engineering from King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang (KMITL), Thailand in 1981, 1984, and 1994, respectively. He was a visiting research scholar at Tokai University in 1988 and at Yokosuka Radio Communications Research Center, Communications Research Laboratory (CRL) in 2004. He joined the KMITL and is currently a Professor at the Department of Telecommunication Engineering. He has served as the Director of the Research Center for Communications and Information Technology during 1997–2002. His main research interests are in antennas for mobile communications and microwave in agricultural applications. Dr. Krairiksh was the chairman of the IEEE MTT/AP/Ed joint chapter in 2005 and 2006. He served as the General Chairman of the 2007 Asia-Pacific Microwave Conference, and the advisory committee of the 2009 International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation. He was the President of the Electrical Engineering/Electronics, Computer, Telecommunications and Information Technology Association (ECTI) in 2010 and 2011 and was



an editor-in-chief of the ECTI Transactions on Electrical Engineering, Electronics, and Communications. He was a Senior Research Scholar of the Thailand Research Fund in 2005 and 2008 and a Distinguished Research Scholar of the National Research Council of Thailand.

Jiro Hirokawa (Member) received the B.S., M.S. and D.E. degrees in electrical and electronic engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech), Tokyo, Japan in 1988, 1990 and 1994, respectively. He was a Research Associate from 1990 to 1996 and an Associate Professor from 1996 to 2015 at Tokyo Tech. He is currently a Professor there. He was with the antenna group of Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden, as a Postdoctoral Fellow from 1994 to 1995. His research area has been in slotted waveguide array antennas and millimeter-wave antennas. He received IEEE AP-S Tokyo Chapter Young Engineer Award in 1991, Young Engineer Award from IEICE in 1996, Tokyo Tech Award for Challenging Research in 2003, Young Scientists' Prize from the Minister of Education, Cultures, Sports, Science and Technology in Japan in 2005, Best Paper Award in 2007 and a Best Letter Award in 2009 from IEICE Communications Society, and IEICE Best Paper Award in 2016 and 2018. He is a Fellow of IEEE and IEICE.

