FOREWORD

Special Section on Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Technologies

This Special Section is comprised of extended papers from the 2018 Asia-Pacific Microwave Conference (APMC 2018) held on November 6–9, 2018 in Kyoto, Japan. In addition to the conventional conference topics of microwave active/passive circuits and devices, microwave systems, and antennas and propagation, the APMC 2018 had special focuses on topical microwave technologies for the fifth generation (5G) wireless communications, radar/sensor technologies for intelligent mobilities, wireless power transfer technologies, and other technologies in non-communication applications such as microwave chemistry. The APMC 2018 included numerous activities of an opening ceremony and a plenary session with keynote and special talks, the closing and award ceremony with 6 special omnibus talks, 71 technical sessions (66 oral sessions including 12 special sessions and 5 poster sessions), 9 workshops, 4 short courses, 4 track student design competitions, university poster presentations, and networking events for young professionals and women in engineering. A total of 855 papers from 47 countries were submitted to the APMC 2018. The number is the highest in the history of APMCs held in Japan. The papers were carefully reviewed by 302 dedicated members of the APMC 2018 International Review Committee, and 550 papers in oral and poster presentations were accepted including 9 invited papers (The acceptance rate is 63% excluding the invited papers).

All authors of the APMC 2018 were invited to submit extended versions of the papers for consideration in this Special Section on Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Technologies. Eleven contributed papers were accepted by the editorial committee of this Special Section through the regular review process of the IEICE Transactions on Electronics.

On behalf of the Editorial Committee, I would like to thank all the authors for their contribution to this Special Section. In addition, I would like to express my deepest gratitude to the Editorial Committee members and anonymous reviewers for their devoted services. My special thanks also go to the members of the IEICE Publication Department.

The members of the editorial committee of this Special Section are:

Secretaries: Eisuke Nishiyama (Saga Univ.), Atsushi Fukuda (NTT DOCOMO)

Guest Associate Editors: Takuji Arima (Tokyo Univ. of Agriculture and Tech.), Takuichi Hirano (Tokyo City Univ.), Shintaro Hisatake (Gifu Univ.), Suguru Kameda (Tohoku Univ.), Ryuji Kuse (Kumamoto Univ.), Tohlu Matsushima (Kyushyu Inst. of Tech.), Mizuki Motoyoshi (Tohoku Univ.), Takahiro Nakamura (Hitachi), Takashi Shimizu (Utsunomiya Univ.), Hidehisa Shiomi (Osaka Univ.), Yasunori Suzuki (NTT DOCOMO), Qiaowei Yuan (National Inst. of Tech., Sendai College)

Atsushi Sanada, Guest Editor-in-Chief

Atsushi Sanada (Senior Member) received the B.E., M.E., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Okayama University, Okayama, Japan, in 1989, 1991, and 1994, respectively. In 2016, he joined the Graduate School of Engineering Science, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan, where he is now a Professor. He was a Visiting Scholar with the University of California at Los Angeles in 1994–1995 and 2002–2003, the Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute International in 2004–2005 and the Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK) in 2005. His research is concerned with microwave science and technologies including transformation electromagnetics, metamaterials, high- $T_{\rm c}$ superconducting devices, and ferrite devices. Dr. Sanada is also a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the European Microwave Association (EuMA). He has been serving as an elected member of the Administrative Committee of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) since 2015.

