FOREWORD

Special Section on Cryptography and Information Security

Nowadays, our society is never realized without technologies related to information security, specially cryptography. Advanced research on them will lead us a more safe and secure world. The aim of this special issue is to advance this trend by publishing quality papers covering wide range of topics on cryptography and information security.

This special section has been intended to include the papers presented at 2019 Symposium on Cryptography and Information Security (SCIS 2019), which was held in Lake Biwa Otsu Price Hotel in Ohtsu, Japan, on January 22–25, 2019, sponsored by ISEC of IEICE and chaired by Minoru Matsui. Since the proceedings of SCIS 2019 was distributed only to the participants, it would be a good opportunity to include selected and updated papers from SCIS 2019 in this special section.

The editorial committee selected 15 papers and 3 letters for publication out of 35 submissions (29 for papers and 6 for letters). Throughout the review process, 95 review reports were written by a total of 62 anonymous reviewers.

On behalf of the editorial committee, I would like to sincerely thank authors of all submissions. My sincere gratitude also goes out to the editorial committee and reviewers who significantly contributed to comprehensive evaluation of submitted papers and letters. I was very fortunate that so many experts put their precious time and efforts to excellently manage assigned submissions. Last but not least, I would like to express my deepest gratitude to Dai Yamamoto, Takashi Nishide, and Kazuki Yoneyama for their hard work as guest editors, and to Yumi Sakemi who resigned from the guest editor.

The editorial committee members of this section are as follows.

Guest Editors: Dai Yamamoto (FUJITSU Lab.), Takashi Nishide (Univ. of Tsukuba), Kazuki Yoneyama (Ibaraki Univ.)

Guest Associate Editors: Seiko Arita (Institute of Information Security), Tomoyuki Asano (Sony Global M&O), Chen-Mou Cheng (Osaka Univ.), Kazuhide Fukushima (KDDI R&D Lab.), Kota Ideguchi (Hitachi), Atsuo Inomata (Tokyo Denki Univ.), Takanori Isobe (Univ. of Hyogo), Mitsugu Iwamoto (The Univ. of Electro-Communications), Kwangjo Kim (KAIST), Masanobu Koike (Toshiba), Takahiro Matsuda (AIST), Shin'ichiro Matsuo (MIT Media Lab.), Hideki Matsushima (Panasonic), Shigeo Mitsunari (Cybozu Labs), Yasuyuki Nogami (Okayama Univ.), Satoshi Obana (HOSEI Univ.), Wakaha Ogata (Tokyo Tech), Miyako Ohkubo (NICT), Teruo Saito (NEC Solution Innovators), Yoshiaki Shiraishi (Kobe Univ.), Hiroki Takakura (National Institute of Informatics), Katsuyuki Takashima (Mitsubishi Electric), Hidema Tanaka (National Defense Academy), Shigenori Uchiyama (Tokyo Metro. Univ.), Rie Shigetomi Yamaguchi (The Univ. of Tokyo), Kan Yasuda (NTT), Masaya Yasuda (Kyushu Univ.), Kenji Yasunaga (Kanazawa Univ.), Katsunari Yoshioka (Yokohama National Univ.).

Atsushi Fujioka, Guest Editor-in-Chief

Atsushi Fujioka (*Member*) received his B.E., M.E., and D.E. degrees from Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1985, 1987 and 1990, respectively. Dr. Fujioka is a professor in Kanagawa University since 2013, and received the 30th Best Achievement Award (and the 9th Kobayashi Memorial Award) from IEICE.

