## **FOREWORD**

## **Special Section on Circuits and Systems**

IEICE Engineering Sciences Society (ESS), System and Signal Processing Subsociety [composed of Technical Committees on Circuits and Systems (CAS), Signal Processing (SIP), VLSI Design Technologies (VLD), and Mathematical Systems Science and its Applications (MSS)] has held a Workshop on Circuits and Systems every year since 1987. This workshop originated in Karuizawa and was held there for more than 20 years consecutively, so some people still affectionately call it Karuizawa Workshop. The 32st Workshop on Circuits and Systems was held successfully in Kita-Senju, Tokyo, Japan from August 22th to August 23th, 2019. This Special Section focused on Circuits and Numerical Analysis, Digital Signal Processing, VLSI Design Technologies, and System Theory. The aim is to clarify the state-of-the-art of technologies emerging from the workshop and to promote future research. This Special Section welcomed the presenters of the workshop but was opened to all researchers in the related area. After careful reviewing of 16 submitted full papers and 3 letters, the editorial committee accepted 10 full papers.

As the Guest Editor-in-Chief, I greatly appreciate the efforts made by the editorial committee members of this Special Section, especially to the Guest Editors, Dr. Takeshi Matsumoto and Dr. Takashi Matsumoto, for their careful and excellent services. I would also like to express my deep thanks to all the authors who submitted papers to this Special Section, as well as the reviewers for their voluntary work to keep the quality of the journal.

**Editorial Committee** 

Guest Editors:

Takeshi Matsumoto (Natl. Inst. of Tech., Ishikawa College), Takashi Matsumoto (The Univ. of Tokyo) Guest Associate Editors:

Tomohiro Takahashi (Tokai Univ.), Masaki Nakamura (Toyama Pref. Univ.), Masao Yamagishi (Tokyo Inst. of Tech.), Seiji Okamoto (Socionext), Motoi Yamaguchi (Renesas Electronics), Yasuhiro Takashima (The Univ. of Kitakyushu), Satoshi Tanaka (Murata Manufacturing), Yohei Nakamura (Hitachi), Shunsuke Yamaki (Tohoku Univ.), Yosuke Sugiura (Saitama Univ.), Yutaka Kamamoto (NTT), Marie Katsurai (Doshisha Univ.), Taizo Suzuki (Univ. of Tsukuba), Masayuki Hiromoto (Fujitsu Lab.), Yusuke Sakemi (NEC), Masashi Tawada (Waseda Univ.), Yuta Ukon (NTT), Yoichi Tomioka (Univ. of Aizu), Toshiyuki Ichiba (Fujitsu Lab.), Shimpei Sato (Tokyo Inst. of Tech.), Ryo Kadoi (Hitachi), Makoto Ikeda (The Univ. of Tokyo), Tohru Ishihara (Nagoya Univ.), Kazuhito Ito (Saitama Univ.), Toshiki Kanamoto (Hirosaki Univ.), Shinji Kimura (Waseda Univ.), Yukihide Kohira (Univ. of Aizu), Tian Song (Tokushima Univ.), Takashi Takenaka (NEC), Tetsuya Hirose (Osaka Univ.), Matthieu Parizy (Fujitsu Lab.), Yukio Mitsuyama (Kochi Univ. of Tech.), Shin-ichi Minato (Kyoto Univ.), Kousuke Miyaji (Shinshu Univ.), Shigeru Yamashita (Ritsumeikan Univ.), Hiroyuki Yotsuyanagi (Tokushima Univ.), Takayuki Watanabe (Univ. of Shizuoka), Yukinori Tonosaki (IHI), Yukiko Yamauchi (Kyushu Univ.), Koichi Kobayashi (Hokkaido Univ.), Naoki Hayashi (Osaka Univ.), Shoichi Kitamura (Mitsubishi Electric), Mitsuru Nakata (Yamaguchi Univ.)

Kenji Suyama, Guest Editor-in-Chief

**Kenji Suyama** (*Member*) received the B.E., the M.E., and the D.E. degrees from the University of Electro-Communications, in 1993, 1995, and 1998, respectively. Currently, he is the professor of Tokyo Denki University. His research interests include microphone array signal processing, sound source localization, and digital filter design.

