FOREWORD

Special Section on Cryptography and Information Security

This special section is the thirty-third in a series that appears in IEICE Transactions on Fundamentals of Electronics, Communications and Computer Sciences. Its objective is to stimulate research in the area of cryptography and information security.

This special section has been intended to include the extended versions of papers presented at 2022 Symposium on Cryptography and Information Security (SCIS 2022), which was sponsored by ISEC of IEICE. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, SCIS 2022 was held in online/offline hybrid on January 18–21, 2022. I would like to pay tribute to the chair Atsuko Miyaji and all the other members of the organizing committee and the program comittee for their efforts in making SCIS 2022 a great success with 947 participants and 362 presentations.

The editorial committee received 26 submissions and selected 19 papers for publication. Throughout the review process, 84 review reports were written by a total of 51 anonymous reviewers.

On behalf of the editorial committee, I would like to thank all the authors sincerely for submitting their research results. My sincere gratitude also goes out to the editorial committee and reviewers for their voluntary work on the comprehensive evaluation of submitted papers and letters. I was very fortunate that so many experts put their precious time and efforts into managing assigned submissions excellently. Last but not least, I would like to express my deepest gratitude to Hiroaki Anada and Yoshikazu Hanatani for their dedicated work as Guest Editors.

The editorial committee members of this section are as follows.

Editorial Committee

Guest Editors:

Hiroaki Anada (Aomori Univ.), Yoshikazu Hanatani (Toshiba)

Guest Associate Editors:

Seiko Arita (Institute of Information Security), Kazuhide Fukushima (KDDI Research), Harunaga Hiwatari (SONY), Kota Ideguchi (Hitachi), Atsuo Inomata (Osaka Univ.), Takanori Isobe (Univ. of Hyogo), Mitsugu Iwamoto (Univ. of Electro-Communications), Jun Kanai (Toshiba), Takashi Nishide (Univ. of Tsukuba), Satoshi Obana (HOSEI Univ.), Wakaha Ogata (Tokyo Tech), Satsuya Ohata (Byerlis Inc.), Miyako Ohkubo (NICT), Yoshiaki Shiraishi (Kobe Univ.), Hiroki Takakura (National Institute of Informatics), Katsuyuki Takashima (Waseda Univ.), Hidema Tanaka (National Defense Academy), Keita Xagawa (NTT), Rie Shigetomi Yamaguchi (Univ. of Tokyo), Shota Yamada (AIST), Dai Yamamoto (FUJITSU), Masaya Yasuda (Rikkyo Univ.), Kazuki Yoneyama (Ibaraki Univ.), Katsunari Yoshioka (Yokohama National Univ.).

Tetsuya Izu, Guest Editor-in-Chief

Tetsuya Izu (*Member*) received the B.S. and M.S. degrees in mathematics from the University of Tokyo in 1992, and from Rikkyo University in 1994, respectively. He received the Ph.D. in engineering from the University of Electro-Communications in 2007. He has been engaged in research on cryptography, information security, network security and cyber security at Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd. and Fujitsu Ltd. since 1997. He was awarded the Young Scientists' Prize by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Research on side channel attacks and countermeasures in information security in 2007.

